Moseying thru the weekend

It’s either half empty or it’s half full.

The weekend, that is.

It’s Saturday night.  I got all my work done today for yesterday, and tomorrow I have to start in on Monday’s work.  No problem.  Can do.

I heard from Sandy in Iowa.  She called and was without power! Oh my.  I hate when that happens.  But it happens to her a lot more than it happens to us.  It seems all the weather in the country swirls around in a spiral and lands right in Iowa every single winter.  They get the worst of the worst out there.  Sandy says that all the streets, driveways, sidewalks – everything – are covered in ice.  And now it’s snowing – AGAIN – oh joy!

Without power, there is no cooking, no heat, and no hot water.  For me it would mean no work, too, and you know how I’d feel about that prospect!  Not happy. 

As you can see here, I’ve changed templates (designs) once more.  And I can’t, in all good conscience, say that this will be the last.  If they didn’t make it so easy to do here at WordPress, I’d probably just stick with the one I’d chosen at the beginning, but that’s me – fickle!

I’ve been delving into one of my favourite subjects lately in my few free hours here – reading about The Brontes of Haworth (North Yorkshire). 

You probably already know how nuts I am about Yorkshire. 

paulbexcottage.JPG

(Paul and Bex at Ryedale Folk Museum in Hutton Le Hole, N. Yorks.)

I always used to admire all three Bronte sisters, especially the eldest, Charlotte.  In fact, my favourite book of all time is Jane Eyre.  But I just finished reading a book called The Crimes of Charlotte Bronte and it presented a totally different picture of what really went on in that parsonage back in the middle 1800’s in the small village of Haworth. 

 

All three sisters, first Emily, then Anne, then Charlotte, died within a very short period of time.  In fact, their brother Branwell was the first to pass away, and all from what they conveniently termed consumption.  A catchall-disease in those days.   Very strange, indeed.  The book I just finished reading has changed the way I have come to think of Charlotte.  She used to be my hero, but now I’m not so sure. 

The book is a novel, and not a biography, per se.  It’s only one man’s opinion of what really happened there, and I’m not going to give it all away here.  Let’s just say I have a completely different view of that story now.

 

Paul and I visited Haworth during a trip to England – not sure which year it was, but it may have been during our 1997 trip.  I remember we were staying at the home of a friend, Sheila, who lives in the Yorkshire Dales.  And I remember that on the day we went to Haworth and visited the parsonage where it all took place, I had left my camera back at Sheila’s house.  Drat.  So I got no pictures that day. 

I also just received in the post a 2-CD set of a series that was made years ago called The Brontes of Haworth.  I just finished it today.  It was well done and now, after reading about them, and seeing the film, I feel completely immersed in Brontes. 

It was funny, too, because the part of Branwell Bronte (Charlotte’s brother) was played by a very young Michael Kitchen.  I studied his face for a long time, wracking my brain to remember where I’d seen that face before.  He was so different looking back then, with a puffy frizzy hairstyle.  (You may remember that Michael Kitchen was the star of the BBC miniseries FOYLE’S WAR that aired on PBS here over the last few years. ) I love him.  He is one of my favourite actors. 

So, enough about history.  I’m very tired now and heading to bed, even though the clock only reads 8:56 p.m. 

Good night all.

Cheers,

Bex

5 thoughts on “Moseying thru the weekend

  1. I enjoyed this entry, and the pictures were really nice! I am also a Bronte fan, and an anglophile in many ways! Even went to college in Southampton awhile when young..and one of the subjects I studied had to do with the Brontes….. I’d sure take the book “The Crimes of Charlotte Bronte” with a LARGE grain of salt. It’s mere conjecture, and not even that well written, really. The possibility of Rev. Nicholls being complicit in the deaths of Branwell, Emily and Anne is somewhat possible; but for Charlotte to have condoned the alleged acts does not compute. I think there are simply too many inconsistancies and gaps in the author’s theory. But,as a work of _fiction_ it’s interesting if you can overlook the obvious flaws and lack of understanding, on the author’s part, of the times of which he writes.

    Like

  2. Having lived in Maine and braving blizards and ice storms I can so relate. It makes me grateful I live in California. Where I live we have a shake or two (light) from earth quakes but nothing like the storms in Maine. Your speaking of the Brontes makes me want to read faster my books I’m reading so I can read Jane Eyre again.

    Like

Leave a Comment

