And the Oscar goes to…

No, I’m NOT watching the [stupid] Oscars.

Paul has it on TV in the other room (I’m up in my office still working!).  I can hear Ellen Degeneres talking/talking/talking.  I wonder what they pay her to do this gig tonight?  Probably more than I make in 3 years!  Even longer, no doubt.  She’s telling jokes – I can hear her in the background. 

Well, I’ve typed, rested, typed, vacuumed, ate a little, typed some more, watched a movie, typed some more, made dinner, ate dinner, and here I am back upstairs typing. And after all that typing, you’d think I’d be done with my Monday’s work – well you’d be wrong.  I am not done, but I am on the home stretch – working on my last doctor.

I’m going downstairs now to see if possibly PBS is NOT having a fundraiser (which they seem to have every other week lately) and maybe is going to be showing a good show.  Last Sunday it was a repeat of a PRIME SUSPECT show with Helen Mirren.  I watched it – again – just because I LOVE HELEN MIRREN.  Say, isn’t she up for an Oscar tonight?  I remember the good old days when Sunday night meant MASTERPIECE THEATRE – you could count on it.  Those days are gone, sadly.  If we get a Masterpiece Theatre, it’s rare these days. 

The movie I watched was one I got on amazon called DEVOTION starring Leslie Howard.  Yes, it was a real oldie.  REAL OLDIE.  It was ever so good though.  I love Leslie Howard, and I’ve just sent for a copy of the version of Wuthering Heights with Leslie Howard, Merle Oberon, and Lawrence Olivier.  I think it’s the 1939 version. I’ve seen other versions of that Emily Bronte story, but I always liked this version the best.

Anyway, I’ve got to get outta here.  My neck is giving me fits.  It hurts almost all the time now, and I’ve got to get into a different position.  Time for work is over for tonight. 

No pictures for you today. 

Goodnight, friends.

Sweet Dreams,

Bex

5 thoughts on “And the Oscar goes to…

  1. Well, you weren’t the only one that didn’t watch the Oscars. The only reason I tune in is to see what the girls are wearing and having been a hairdresser to see how their hair is done. I haven’t seen either of the Helen Mirren movies but want to because of my facination with the royal family. You take care of that neck. Mine hurts enough for the both of us.

    Like

  2. I’m not supposed to tell you this, but I’m a Neilsen family. It’s a special rating that records what people with TiVo watch. And, I guess, what they record, and what they replay. I don’t even know if I’m still part of the program, because I signed up for it a couple of years ago and never heard back from them.

    I did watch the Oscars and enjoyed the show, even though I didn’t see many of the nominated films. But that’s just me.

    Like

  3. A few weeks ago we were actually a Nielson family — had one of those little daily diary books to write down what we watched on TV. I don’t think we did much to boost many ratings. Monday thru Friday watched part of a local morning news program and the opening minutes of the Today show. Watched the Superbowl. Watched part of a movie on HBO with the kids. And one day Nancy watched one of those half hour 1970s or 80s vintage British sitcoms that local PBS stations show over and over.

    I’m sure Ellen Degeneres is taking home a very large paycheck. At least half a million, actually probably over a million.

    Like

Leave a Comment

