Turning back time

That’s me, above.  Way before I got any gray hair. 

Way before I married Paul. 

In what seems like another universe – before I got “old.”

 I felt so fat in those stupid green overalls.  God, if only I could be that “fat” again! I was never “thin” exactly, but oh to be only that “fat” again!

Obviously, it was Christmastime. 

This photo was taken in my apartment, on Christmas Eve, probably in the late 1970s or early 1980s.  After I was divorced from husband number 1, and before I’d started dating husband number 2.

My family would all gather at my place and we would eat yummy food and open stockings. 

Each Christmas Eve we would have one of these soirees.  And we would pick names and do a stocking for the person we’d picked. 

Every year the stockings got crazier and crazier.

I can remember one year I found a stocking that was about 7 feet long and I filled it with presents for whomever I picked – I think it was my brother.

I guess I chose to wear those gawd-awful greenjeans because it was Christmastime and I hadn’t anything else that was red and green like that.

Those days are gone.  Only memories now.

~ ~

It’s almost March, and then April will be here, and spring.

I can’t wait for spring.

I’m sick to death of winter.

 Cheerio,

Bex   

7 thoughts on “Turning back time

  1. You know, it doesn’t seem real when we look back at pictures, especially those from the 70s or 80s–simply because we usually say, “I can’t believe people wore clothes like that!” or “How did we survive without mp3 players?”

    I have to agree with you on the whole “fat” thing. I look at pictures of myself and wonder how the hell did I ever think I was fat–I’d give anything to be that “fat” now–at least I was healthy.

    Like

Leave a Comment

