One last hurrah

Just when you thought it was safe to call it spring, here comes Old Man Winter again, rearing his ugly head.

I had planned a birthday party for my father-in-law today.  But now I’m going to have to cancel it – postponed until at least tomorrow.  We are in for some snow, and it’s predicted to be hitting us hard at exactly the same time that we had planned to drive over to their place for the party.  Originally, it was going to be held here, but with snow coming, I changed it to their place.  We could go out in it, freeze our butts off, shovel the driveway, etc. – not them. 

But the more I think about it, the more I’d rather stay put today, safe and warm in our cottage, getting my Friday work all typed up and then, tomorrow, if the snow has stopped, and the predicted heavy rain has started (hopefully washing all the white stuff away), we’ll have the party.

We’re bringing the main meal, and they are bringing the dessert.  And I hear Paul’s Dad has requested a carrot cake – which pleases all of us equally. 

I’ll be making what my mother-in-law calls “American Chop Suey.”  Kind of a mish mash of cooked pasta (I bought small sea-shell pasta for this dish) mixed up with some meat sauce cooked with vegetables such as celery, pepper, onion, etc.  A one dish meal.  Might make some garlic bread to go with it.

~ ~

As you may remember, I was having a bit of a crisis the other night.  Panic had creeped into my psyche, and I had visions of not being able to accomplish my work next week when we go from old-fashioned to new-fangled all at once.  But I got the whole situation straightened out over the phone the other day, and things seem to be on-line now to proceed.

I hope.

~ ~

So here we go again, about 5 inches of snow predicted for our area today, with heavy rains coming on the heels of it  tomorrow.  I’m hoping that, by Sunday, the rain will have completely eliminated the snow and we can go back to calling it Spring, again.  p>

Cheers,

Bex

4 thoughts on “One last hurrah

  1. I saw the headline this morning about a big storm in the east and thought, why are they repeating news from a month ago? What’s happening now? (Not that I really need to know, I guess, since I can’t do anything about it.)

    Like

  2. To bad you are getting all the snow now.
    Been there and done that last week to the tune of 10 inches.
    But the rain came alone and it is now all gone.
    Good luck with the new way for work

    Like

Leave a Comment

