An up to the minute, blow-by-blow status on the doctor’s visit

I guess it all boils down to living by the numbers.

When your cholesterol numbers are higher than the “averages,” they wring their hands and put you on meds.  Then with time, your numbers creep back down (hopefully) and you are in their good graces once again. 

Unless your blood pressure numbers are too high.

Then they wring their hands, look scornfully at you from behind their big wooden desk, and lower the boom that they want to put you on a blood pressure-reducing medication.

For someone who didn’t visit the doctor in 15 years and swore she never would, I am slowly but surely getting sucked into their system.  I’m just hoping that what I’m agreeing to do will eventually bring me out on the healthier side of this medical mumbo-jumbo tunnel.

I suppose that since both of my parents had high blood pressure and had to take antihypertensive meds, it was just a matter of time before I would, too.   You just never think of yourself as that unhealthy, even though the scales tell you otherwise.

The fun is over.

At least the fun with food is over.  I must obey.  I must adjust.  I must give up those bad carbs and, with a stiff upper lip, stand up straight, eat my veggies with no butter, no salt, no sugar, no nuttin’ good… and like it. 

I’m trying to give up caffeine, too, but that’s tricky.  I’d rather not develop the caffeine-withdrawal headache that always accompanies this type of weaning process, so my nurse practitioner suggested I just have a half-cup of coffee (or tea) in the mornings instead of my usual ONE LOUSY CUP per day.  I don’t know HOW those who drink multiple cups of caffeine can even be alive.  I drink one cup a day and that has to go!  I don’t smoke (never have), don’t drink (used to but stopped in 1981 totally and completely), and my little one cup of coffee or tea a day has to go, now.

Where is the justice of it all?

And bread.

Oh, this will be the hard one to do.  I love bread.  I love potatoes, also, and both ALSO must go. Not to mention all added salt, and just about anything that can be called a “processed food” must go.

I realize there are bazillions of good, upstanding, compliant citizens of the world who are doing all the right things that their primary care physicians tell them to do, and I applaud them for it.  It must be nice to feel good every day, to have normal blood pressure coursing through your veins and arteries, to be able to buy normal sized clothing and look and feel good.  I am being pulled kicking and screaming into your world, and I just pray it works.  To be normal, is all I ask. 

Normal cholesterol numbers.

Normal blood pressure readings.

Normal body weight.

Normal aches and pains (not debilitating arthritic pain).

That’s all I ask out of life anymore.

Normalcy.

If my doctors/nurses can give me that, with the help of some drugs and especially a lot willpower on my part, I guess I’ll be a happy camper. 

Cheerios,

Bex

14 thoughts on “An up to the minute, blow-by-blow status on the doctor’s visit

  1. Bex, that’s really nasty stuff, my heart goes out to you. I think one of the hardest things is that (if your anything like me) being told you can’t have the foods/things that you enjoy is a hard blow and one which would usually prompt eating some of those comfort foods to make you feel better. The only advice I can offer, I doubt it’ll help much, is to try and focus on the other comfort things for the time being, like buying a treat, having a day at the beach, whatever floats your boat – but just so you’ve something nice to look forward to, to take the edge off the readjustment phase. Sorry, a hundred people have probably said that b4 me but I haven’t been on the net much lately x

    Like

  2. Oh man, I can feel for you. I don’t know what I would do without my cup of tea in the morning. My doctor wants me to cut back on pasta and potatoes and these are my comfort foods. Aaaah.

    Like

  3. Considering alternatives is the way a person has to go as age advances, I think.
    I have been on oxygen for several years, take two meds for arrythmia, and assorted bits and pieces such as thryoid pills.
    Fopund out sometime ago that I have to limit my food intake in proportion to my exertion. If I move little, it is necessary to eat little, but the right things of course,
    Hope that things come under control for you Bex, got my fingers crossed and am doing the traditional rain dance as well. Rain dances must count for something, I do it here and it doesn’t rain here, must be helping somewhere else. Say, Goodnight Doug.” Nuff sed !

    Like

  4. I hope they can help you get life back on track .
    I have Menieres and I can have no salt..I wasn’t happy about that but it was better than useing a cane everyday if I did eat a lot of it .
    For now I am cane free for the time being.

    Like

  5. yeah… my prescription is for 25 mg. Toprol XL…

    The really distressing thing is how so many (factory-made) foods are so high in sodium. I’d bet that the average person is consuming at least double the recommended amount of sodium daily — and I can see that it would be easy to hit triple the allowance.

    I’ve always liked to make my own pasta sauce — now I have to do it — and make sure I start with “no salt added” ground tomatoes. And look for “low sodium” versions of soups, etc. (most of which are still too high) — so it’s make my own soup time as well.

    Good luck!

    Like

  6. Tomorrow is your Birthday, Michael? If you read this, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I know I already said it earlier, but still…

    I wish I could have a piece of your cake….

    Like

  7. I’ve been taking blood pressure meds for years, and still hate it. I started while in my 40’s and asked my Dr. why I got this way so young. He said that my ancestors gave it to me. And now both of my kids are taking blood pressure meds, so I guess I gave it to them. But It’s better to take the meds and enjoy life than the alternative, isn’t it?

    Oh yes, I hope you have a happy day on Sunday. We usually celebrate Easter, but this year we are especially celebrating because it’s Michael’s birthday. (At least I am even if he isn’t. After all it’s my fault he’s having a birthday.)

    Like

  8. You said a wise thing here, Bex: “… I am slowly but surely getting sucked into their system”

    I have no idea how to act on it but it’s one of those things you want to sit and think about… 🙂

    Like

  9. Amen, amen, amen to your thoughts. I am not “normal” either and have been on antihypertensive meds for a long time. My cholesterol nunbers are fine except for those peskly triglycerides and now I have been told my blood sugar is to high. Alas, as you say the fun is over. I am trying to use the D.A.S.H diet as a guide in hopes I can remedy at least part of the situation. Just type in D.A.S.H in your search window if you want to read about it. It’s primarly for ^b/p, but is a good guide for diabetics and anyone with extra lard as I I have managed to collect around my middle.

    I see mercystreet says that we should be thankful for the meds. but I am reminded of the woman asking her grandmother how some of her ancestors and elder relatieve managed to live such long lives. “Oh that was before cholesterol,” she was told.

    You reckon if we didn’t do so much reading and thinking, we’d be batter off?

    Happy Easter.
    Ava

    Like

  10. As much as I dislike all the things and meds, I have to remind myself that at least there is something available to to help me. Just think not that many years ago all this stuff wasn’t around to keep us living longer. It still sucks to have to have whatever and end up on meds.

    Like

Leave a Comment

