It’s not all black and white…

dcp_4087bw.jpg

I said it 8 years ago, when we got Whitby as a pup.  No more puppies for me!  Now I remember WHY I said it!

Not that I don’t love this little fluff-ball to pieces.

Because I do.  Truly, I love him to pieces.

But there is a limit!  I hope I haven’t reached it yet, but yesterday I would have sworn I had.

Puppyhood may very well be my downfall.

All I keep thinking of is “How can I get the next year to zoom by real fast so he’s a grown-up-type dog with manners, street-smarts, and fewer bad habits?”

That’s all I need to know – how I can make that happen.

He likes to chew everything.

Every last thing in the house is his favourite thing to chew.

Actually, after reading testimonials online from other puppy-moms, Kip doesn’t chew as much as SOME dogs do – not yet anyway.  But he’s only been here a week today – give him time!

For the first week, I had to wait for Paul to return home from fishing in the late afternoon before I could leave to go to my office to drop off and pick up more work.  Kip has not been trained, in any sort of way, including crate-trained.  He won’t wear a collar or go on a lead, he occasionally piddles and poops (well, only once/twice respectively, so far!) on the dining room rug (which is being rolled up today and stored in the basement until he has learned a few rules around here!).  I have to take him outside a bazillion times a day, and sometimes he just sits there on the grass, enjoying the fine day, the birds singing, the trees rustling – thinking that life is good.

kipsfirstday0019.jpg

I hope his life will be good with us. 

I hope I make it thru his puppyhood in one piece.

Oh, his (previous) floppy ear has righted itself and now both ears are pointing straight up to the sky!  They are huge, as the pictures here clearly show.  He resembles a fox when he is dashing about on the front lawn.  Paul plays with them and they get to run around a lot.  We haven’t had the time yet to start teaching things.  

It’s been hectic this week here, with a parent going to the hospital, and all the accompanying worry that goes along with that, and running around, and accommodating people, and trying to work each day, and keep the dogs happy, and not fighting (puppy-fighting, not serious) and not chewing forbidden parts of the house, and keeping them outside often enough that they don’t permanently soil the floors. 

It’s all been just about too much for me this week, and I don’t mind telling you, this next week had better be an improvement.   I’ve got Paul on the case of providing some barriers (to keep them either upstairs when I’m up here, or downstairs when I’m down there)  and he promised to mow the lawns later today when he returns from work.  Having high grass in the front garden doesn’t sit well with my puppers… they don’t like wading thru the high grass, and neither do I.

kips5thday0003.jpg

 

Lord Give Me Strength!

 

Bex

15 thoughts on “It’s not all black and white…

  1. Oh, I’ve already discovered the water pistol approach. I have water in two places in squirt bottles, and he gets a spray of it when he won’t quit… but he’s getting used to it now, and doesn’t really mind it! In the hot summer, he actually likes it! Figures!

    Like

  2. I have a water pistol amd when he does something naughty in front of me, I squirt him and it works! It works on dogs too I am told.Try it !

    Like

  3. I am counting on him growing out of it, Maureen! If I didn’t think he would, I’d have to kill myself because this pace of puppy-minding is killing me!

    Like

  4. My cat who was 4yrs old dropped dead one morning 5 months ago.It is like losing a child.So we got a kitten,Jasper.He bites all the time and it’s a wonder that I’m not anaemic from the loss of blood! I am sure my other cats were never this naughty!So I sympathise with you really!!!!They will grow out of it one day……won’t they ….?

    Like

  5. Long story short – I should have a puppy right now – I don’t…My 18 year old heped me make the decision not to – he told me that he just couldn’t deal with the responsibility – I’m sad, but I’m happy for you – Kipper is adorable.

    Like

  6. Ooooh, barking! That’s another thing Penny does that drives me nuts! She has such a shrill bark – it startles me every time she goes off (which happens every time someone pulls into the driveway, or walks up to our front and/or back door!). I like the new template picture, by the way. I wish I could I could figure out how to get mine to fit better – it’s kind of squished.

    Like

  7. A year old and STILL misbehaving, Stephanie? Oh Lordy me. I hope that doesn’t happen here. We have always had such good luck with our dogs – but he is ONLY 3 months old… I’ll be patient – that’s all I CAN do! But I had to lock him out of my room just now so I could get some work done… he got into a barking frenzy and I couldn’t hear the dictation thru my headphones!

    Like

  8. LOL. Now you know why I love fostering orphaned puppies, love them to death, and am happy to turn them back to the SPCA to be put up for adoption before they eat the house. I always have cute little puppies around, and I don’t have to train any of them.

    I wish you patience. You’re a better person than I am!

    Like

  9. Like Carol, I, too, am waiting for a miracle to have my puppy trained and to not chew. Penny uses the rug under the dining room table (what IS it about that location?!) as her personal bathroom. I’ve tried everything, but nothing works. She also has a chewing problem – rugs seem to be a favored delicacy around here. She’s almost a year old, and I’m at my wit’s end. But I love her to pieces. Sigh.

    Like

  10. lol! yes … I remember this well. Not so long ago for my Maddie, but I also have a house full of things … books,, benches, etc., that still bare the marks of little teeth, from years past. As Moody says … ‘this too shall pass’. He’ll bring you a lot of joy.

    Like

  11. I am waiting for a miracle to have my puppy Maggie trained and to not chew. She chews everything too, including me and my other dog. And she found my new sandals. I hope you have more luck than I do. I had to roll up my rug also.

    Like

Leave a Comment

