Then and Now…

kipandco0712070001.jpg  kip-0903070001.jpg

(Click thumbnails for enlarged photos)

I guess the main reason I haven’t updated this blog lately is because of Kip, that cute little collie boy pictured above. 

On the left, he had been here for  about 13 days – so that would make him about 3 months old.

On the right, he had been here for almost 10 weeks – so that makes him 5 months old. 

So little time for so much to have happened.  Needless to say, he (along with his big sister Emma) take up a good chunk of my life these days.  That and working and making sure our house stays up and running properly take up all of the 24 hours God gives me each day for living.  Not much spare time for writing blogs. 

In fact, I sat down here to begin my work for the day, but figured I’d send you off a small HELLO and wish you all a happy weekend coming up. 

Our Kip is developing into a handsome young “man” now.  He has been losing his baby teeth this past week, and I even had to help one along with a swift yank on it as it was dangling in his mouth, refusing to come loose on its own.  Poor little tyke… I try to explain to him that he will grow new ones, but I’m not sure he quite understands.  But it certainly doesn’t keep him from biting and chewing on everything and anything, although I may be seeing a slight turning of that corner.  I think that’s the one thing about “puppyhood” that bothers me the most – the need for him to constantly have something in his mouth to keep the teething pains at bay.

He’s been jabbed and wormed and immunized for all sorts of maladies so far.  He still has one more jab to get in about a week to finish off his Rabies shots, and then, next month, comes the BIG DAY.  He will be old enough to go in for the dreaded neutering operation.  I don’t relish that day one little bit.  It will mean that I’ll have to take him down to Dog-Doctor first thing in the morning, and then leave him there.  Since he arrived here at the end of June, he’s been such an integral part of my every-waking-hour, I know I’ll have Kip-Withdrawal-Pangs…. and no doubt Emmalee will be pacing the house all day, wondering where her little brother has disappeared to.  But hopefully, all will go well, and he’ll be back in the loving arms of his family that same night. 

Maybe that little “operation” will tame him down slightly?  I don’t know…I’ve heard rumours to the contrary, so I’m not counting on it.  I think only time will do that for us.  Not that I’m wishing his life away, mind you.  He’s a charming little scamp, and despite being run ragged these last two months, I’m really glad he’s here and in our lives.

So, other than dealing with puppy matters, and working, not much has happened.  Our neighbors hired a tree trimming company to come and trim out our huge oak tree in the front yard because some of it was overhanging their roof, and they are planning to put on a new roof soon.  That was nice of them… to pay for it, I mean.  (Thanks, guys!)  Now our big old oak tree is a lot trimmer and neater looking.  And it was good entertainment for the puppers, too! 

Our Boston Red Sox have been leading the Eastern Division of the American Baseball League for most of this year, and are still about 6-1/2 games ahead of those dreaded New York Yankees.  So with every game, we are rooting for them and keeping our fingers and toes crossed that they make it into the playoffs, and then maybe into the World Series.  They have a lot of new members on the team this year who are really contributing greatly, and it’s been fun watching them this season.   

So it’s time to work now.  I can’t justify any more lally-gagging around here when I have many, many miles/hours of typing ahead of me. 

Peace,

Bex

 

 

9 thoughts on “Then and Now…

  1. Stopping by to check in and say hi. So many people have left Diaryland. I’ve bene on Typepad now forever although I still keep up my DLand subscription. I have to move all my old posts over before I totally jump ship.

    Like

  2. I certainly hope he doesn’t have to wear that horrid collar. We’ve been there/done that with other dogs and it’s disaster in a tiny house like this. I suspect he’ll be ok… I hope… I pray… without it. Drugs may be the answer!

    Like

  3. The Puppers look good!
    I actually had a dream about you last night. I dreamt I went looking for you and was trailing you by following the shredded bits of cloth I kept finding. LOLOL… Anyways, Im glad you popped in. I was getting worried.

    Like

  4. There’s something so endearing about Kip. I love looking at him. Our little Penny finally seems to be coming out of her false pregnancy, so she’ll be able to go for spaying soon.

    Like

Leave a Comment

