Have you a sweet tooth?

We have — sweet teeth, that is.  And my dearest friend Sandy mentioned the other day that she’d just made a Pineapple Cake, and oh, my oh my, that sounded well and truly delicious to me, so I asked her how she made it and it turned out to be so simple, and I happened to have all the ingredients here, that I made one for us and just felt like sharing it with you.  So consider that this recipe does not originate from the annals of Crow Cottage, but rather comes from way out in the midwest part of this country, from a woman I am proud to call the bestest of friends, Sandy F.  (Thanks sweetie!)

Sandy’s (and now my) Pineapple Cake

 

pineapplecake0002.jpg

(click to enlarge)

Ingredients:

2 cups white flour

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. baking soda

1 large can crushed pineapple including the juice.

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.  Pour into your pan of choice (I used a non-stick bundt pan which made for a beautiful and easily-cut cake in the end, but Sandy says she uses a 9×13 cake pan).

(Note:  Since there is no oil or fat in this recipe, you might want to spray the pan.  I didn’t, but my bundt pan was fairly new and had all the non-stick coating intact, and I had no problem plopping it out at the end).

Cook at 350 degrees F. for about 40 mins (if using a bundt pan) but maybe a little less time if using a regular cake pan.

Sandy says she sometimes frosts it with cream cheese frosting, but usually not, and I didn’t use any frosting.  It is, indeed, sweet enough all by itself without any frosting, and I have to say, this has become one of my favourite cakes of all time! 

I’ll bet you could even use canned fruit of other varieties in this cake…like how about canned cherry pie filling?  or blueberry pie filling?  I will have to try one of those and I will report back to you how they work. 

For now, we have a rare sweet in the house for afters this week.  We’ve been watching some Ruth Rendell mysteries that I got on DVD and are enjoying those each evening after supper, with our pineapple cake.  It’s really too sinful to be enjoying this kind of luxury every night of the week, but just this once I don’t think will hurt too much.  Besides, it’s January — in New England — and we need some comfort food now and then!

Cheers

Bex

 

 

7 thoughts on “Have you a sweet tooth?

  1. I was thinking that it sounded okay but between Nancy and Gillian there often seems to be a supply of cookies or pie or cake or multiple kinds of goodies, so this was yet another recipe… and then I clicked on the picture to see the large version… and almost wanted to take a bite out of my monitor. That does look very delicious. Forget youtube.com, somebody needs to invent youtaste.com, where you can get a large byte (*cough*) of a cookie or a slice of cake or pie delivered to your desktop via Web browser.

    Like

  2. WOW..glad you enjoyed it so much that you put it in here for others to enjoy.
    I make this to take places and it is always all gone when I leave.
    You can put nuts in it.
    I have use a 15 oz can of mandarin oranges in place of the pineapple.
    I will try the bundt pan next time.
    It does freeze well : -)

    Like

Leave a Comment

