Can I wear a purple jumpsuit after I’m 60?

 

That’s me up there, in my purple body suit, and red nightcap.  Yep.  Today is the day I turn the big Six-Oh. 

I don’t feel any older though.  But then I never do on my birthdays.  Does anybody?

The other day, after suffering lately from what has been excruciating sciatic pain going down my left leg for about two or three weeks now, I said to Paul that one day I am going to wake up and this sciatica will just be GONE! 

He said, “Yeah, right!” 

I don’t want to jinx myself here and now, but after going through one of the worst nights I have EVER gone thru the night before last with the sciatic pain, and thinking that my life as I knew it up until now was surely and definitely over, and after taking great care yesterday, my last day of being 59, to not strain my lower back at all, and making Paul do all the running up and down stairs all day long, somehow, just as I was turning 60 years old, I woke up today with almost NO sciatic pain.  I say “almost” because in truth, I can actually feel a leeeeetle bit of it still hiding there in the back of my left leg and lower lumbar spine, but really, it’s so much better than it has been, that I am just going to say it’s gone and try to believe myself!

Today I plan to celebrate –  not turning 60 years old – but saying goodbye (hopefully) to the sciatic pain that has been the bane of my existence lately.

Goodbye Pain!  Good Riddance!

There.  I hope it won’t come back here again (but in reality, it probably will).

As for any other type of celebrating, not much is in the works.  Paul is on another of his yearly low-iodine diets because he will be undergoing his annual thryoid uptake scan soon (after undergoing a complete thyroidectomy 2 years ago) and he can’t eat anything with iodine in it.  So that means I can’t either because I eat what he eats for the most part here.  You’d be surprised at how many things contain iodine! 

After his testing is over and he has another clean bill of health from his endocrinologist, we are planning to go out and celebrate me turning 60 with his parents by chowing down with some serious fried whole-belly Ipswich clams (at least they will be on MY plate) at one of our favourite seafood joints near here.  I’ve been waiting a whole year for those clams so another couple of weeks won’t matter too much.  I’ve lost about 6 pounds, too, lately  on a semi-diet, and I figure I’ll gain all of that plus some after the clam dinner.  But there isn’t anything I love more in the world than fried clams!

 

Cheers,

Bex-The-Geezer

9 thoughts on “Can I wear a purple jumpsuit after I’m 60?

  1. Happy birthday, “kid”!

    Turning 60 is a big deal in Corea, special parties and celebrations, since it’s a complete circuit of the oriental animal years (12 animals x 5 “elements”[wood, water, fire, metal, earth]).

    Yep, real fried clams (bellies and all) are scrumptious. Enjoy!!!

    Hugs from Asia,
    ~ Sil

    Like

  2. Wonderful news about the absence of the pain. And Happy Birthday!! I’ve never had fried clams, but I love most other seafood and would love to try them. We don’t get that sort of thing around here at all. Crabs, crawfish, all sorts of fish and sometimes scallops show up on some restaurant menus, but I don’t think I I have ever seen clams, unless it’s clam chowder. I suspect that’s out of a can too.

    Hey, I have over ten years on you and I am still kicking, but not too high, ya know? Celebrate in style.

    Ava

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday, Bex. Celebrate for the next month, at least (this is a big one). And congratulations on no pain, and hoping it stays that way.

    Like

  4. Happy birthday, kid!

    Foods like fried clams (or buffalo wings or loaded pizzas, etc.) may not be the kinds we can eat every day, but certainly are the kinds of thing we deserve to enjoy on special occasions. Hope you really enjoy your fried clams!

    I can remember way back when I hit the big six-oh…

    (I’m 65 tomorrow.)

    Like

  5. “HAPPY BIRTHDAY”…glad to read those prayers are working on your pain .
    Go for the clams as soon as you can ..you earned them .
    Hope your day goes well for you …oh to be 60 again .
    71 isn’t to bad but 60 was good and I hope it is for you too.

    Like

Leave a Comment

