I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice-cream!

In my last entry’s comments section, a faithful reader, Stephanie, asked to be told more about frozen pudding ice cream.

Isn’t this a world-wide well-known ice cream flavour? No?

All my life (at least that part of my life I’ve lived in New England) there has been Frozen Pudding Ice Cream around. Granted, you can’t find it at just ANY old store. Our Super Stop & Shop doesn’t carry it, and they have an exceptionally large ice cream section, too.

Actually, now that I put my mind into ice-cream gear, the only place I can remember finding this gem of an ice cream is at Russ Treadwell’s Ice Cream shop. In Peabody. I went to school with Russ Treadwell, but this ice cream place was run by his Dad and I don’t know how many relatives before him. I don’t think “my” Russ Treadwell took it over, but I really can’t say for sure.

I’m pretty sure that Treadwell’s was sold not too long ago, but the new owners, in their infinite wisdom, kept the name as Treadwell’s – just because that’s what everyone knows. There are a few other really great little ice cream places around this area… we DO love our ice cream, especially in the hot months, but even in the dead cold of winter, I will drive by Treadwell’s (it’s right on my route to and from the office) and will see a line of folks inside waiting for their ice cream. Brrrrr.

But I know why. It’s the best ice cream in the world. At least in MY world, which I admit has really shrunk down lately now that I work at home and all.

Anyway, to summarize, Frozen Pudding ice cream is, I think, basically a vanilla base with bits of fruit scattered throughout it. But the kicker is that it is flavored with RUM. And THAT is what makes it heavenly. The little bits of fruit are also very nice. It’s not overly powerful. You don’t start slurring your words or veering over to the right or left as you walk away licking your mound of ice cream, but when you first bite into this stuff, you KNOW it!

Stephanie, I would think if you put your mind to it, and search online, you might find someplace near your home where they make and sell frozen pudding. I have the sneaking suspicion that if you ever do find it, you will be one happy camper, at least for the time it takes you to eat your dish or cone of ice cream.

Good luck! Happy hunting.

(Hey, we’ve still got some leftover from Christmas Eve down in the freezer…hmmm…..)

 frozenpuddingicecream

 

Bex

5 thoughts on “I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice-cream!

  1. Bex,
    Enjoyed reading this!

    Just to set the record strait, it was Brad Treadwell (#2 son) who took the business over from our dad when he retired, and you are right – he has since sold it to a new owner who has done a great job of continuing the tradition.

    Alas, I now live in Dallas and rarely get the chance to enjoy it!

    -Russ

    Like

  2. Smiley’s in Winslow, Maine has a similar flavor, Rum Raisin, but it’s got all those streaks of other fruit in it, too. Absolutely scrumptious!!! It was my husband’s favourite. {Smiley is a family name in Maine; they run a dairy farm and sell milk, too.}

    Hugs from Cherry-blooming Corea and Happy Easter, ~ Sil

    Like

  3. I wonder if it’s a regional thing, because we don’t seem to have frozen pudding ice cream here in California. I think I’d know, because I hang out in the ice cream aisle a lot. I’ll just have to stick with my current favorite, dulce de leche ice cream.

    Like

  4. WOW…I wish i could reach right in and get a bite…yum yum
    I have not found it in Iowa yet…i have looked a few places but not all stores.

    Like

Leave a Comment

