Did someone say “Let it snow…let it…..”

jan2009snow0010

The front garden

For any of you who live in warmer climes, and are just yearning for a little taste of real Winter Weather, see the photo above and enjoy what has just been dumped on us over the weekend.  If YOU can enjoy it, from afar, then it may be worth it.  From our perspective, it means a lot of shoveling, heavily snow-laden power lines and tree boughs, and just a lot of the white stuff to deal with.

So much white stuff, in fact, that there’s almost no color outside at all except for the sky peeking thru above.  And that’s not really very colourful either.

Working at home has it’s benefits on days like this.  I do have to drive to the office, but not til noontime or later, when, by then I’m sure, the Dept. of Public Works will have our streets free and clear and free for the abundance of daily traffic in Salem.

I’ve just put in for my two weeks’ vacation time, and so springtime is looking awfully good to me right about now.  Can we just skip February and March, though?  Does anyone have the power to do that?

Cheers,

Bex

5 thoughts on “Did someone say “Let it snow…let it…..”

  1. Winter wonderland, indeed! Humph! Yes, it’s pretty but I have shoveled too much of it in my lifetime. So, you see, I’m a real New Englander.

    In regard to your question to Buntsign: The way it was explained to me (in a computer class), cookies are tiny bits of code, too little to do any harm. Possibly that has changed, but I doubt it. I just delete the temporary internet files, but keep my cookies, because they contain my passwords and entry info.

    I am using Avast anti-virus and Super AntiSpyware. They are both free, and have excellent reviews in the “geek” web magazines. Avast updates once or twice every day, so it’s always on top of new viruses and other malware.

    Like

  2. I wish we had some of that! Not because I like to shovel snow, but because we have had NO snow at all here on the Left Coast in January, and are now at 45% of normal precip for the year. We are going to be in a huge drought come summertime, when we will undoubtedly burn up. So send us some of that, willya?

    Like

  3. I have almost had my fill of snow shoveling for this season. I think I can handle two more storms (three if they are very light ones) but at the current frequency of winter weather events, that many storms may visit us before the end of the month. I would be pleased to greet spring in a few weeks. (Where’s this global warming when you need it?)

    Like

  4. Great photos…been there the last few days as Iowa has been in a deep freeze and snow deep .
    I feel for you …enjoy a snug under your duvet when you can do it

    Like

Leave a Comment

