Is change really necessary?

I realize change is what keeps the world spinning round and round, but once I hit 60 last year, change became my enemy.  I don’t like change any more. 

I did change my header photo just now, but that’s only because I don’t have much to say here.  So you get a new picture but it’s nothing you probably haven’t seen already.  

It’s Sunday.  I’ve been trying to work most of today.  So far I’ve worked a total of 4-1/2 hours today.  All the in-between time has been spent running up and down stairs, letting dogs out, waiting for them to start barking, then trying to coax them into coming back in.  That’s what you have to do when you have dogs and close neighbors.  They do their fair share of barking but we do try to limit it as much as possible.  I mean, a dog’s got to bark SOME times!  After all. 

It’s been so long since I’ve used my computer to “play” – it seems it’s all work and no play for me lately.  Makes for a dull Bex.  No trips to England for going on 7 years.  What?  Is that right?  I think 2002 was our last trip.  Wow, that’s disgusting.  We used to go every other year or at most every 3rd year.  But 7 years?  The economy is what I’m blaming now, but it’s really other stuff.  I don’t really want to hop an airplane these days.  The older I get, the more frightened I become of flying.  I keep telling Paul that it’s not natural to be so high up and going so darn fast.  Not natural.  Then plane crashes lately, and I’m just about determined to never step foot on a plane again. 

But I know I will.  If I live that long.  After I retire.  I will get back to England if it’s the last thing I do.

Cheers,

Bex

9 thoughts on “Is change really necessary?

  1. Though the age 60 is a few years off but I don’t like change period. I don’t like a change in my daily schedule. I hate doctor appointments. These make my whole day seem over before I’m ready.

    Like

  2. I know what you mean about becoming more fearful as you get older- i rail against it but it’s always there when i want to do something outside of my routine existence. I always thought that age would bring more freedom, but my world seems to be shrinking instead. Maybe we should all egg each other on to not be so afraid.

    Like

  3. I know — I haven’t been to England in forever either. (heaves big sigh) I have a very very VERY slim possibility to go this summer, but finances will probably keep me from actually being able to step on that airplane, more’s the pity.

    Like

  4. I’m pretty much with you about change, Bex. Oh, don’t get me wrong. If we came into some money it would be fun to go new places, but really the only change I would be interested in is for Gordon to be well. It is getting harder and harder for me to learn new things so even the thought of a new computer sort of scares me.

    Old dog and new tricks, ya know?

    Like

  5. Well… you could always try a re-positioning cruise. A fair number of those cruise ships that do all of that Caribbean cruising in the winter, spend their summers doing cruises of the Mediterranean or northern Europe, so twice a year they have to cross the Atlantic. So every year in the spring (usually around mid to late April) they have to cross going east and then in the early fall they have to cross again going west. Nancy and I have talked about how after we are both retired we would like to take one of those cruises — no shore excursions, just four or five days of cruising across the ocean. Anyway, if you took a cruise ship across, you would only have to fly on the return trip (or spend the entire summer over there).

    Like

  6. I haven’t been on a plane in many years, before all the taking off of shoes and such began. I’d have to really want to be somewhere before I’d even consider it — sort of the way you feel about England. I was never afraid of flying, but I was never comfortable on a plane, either. I get a little queasy just thinking about flying.

    Change is fine, as long as I don’t have to be the one changing.

    Like

  7. I like change, Bex, and yearn for it. Plane journeys, though, I’m with you, and it’s become worse and worse as I’ve got older. There are other ways to travel, and when you retire, haste ought to be the least consideration! 😀

    Like

  8. I do hope you get to England soon…I know how much you miss it.
    I dont like change either..the older I get the less I want things to change.

    Like

Leave a Comment

