Spring colour

Fall0010

No, that is not a picture of spring at Crow Cottage.  It’s last year’s fall colours, but I haven’t been outside with my camera in a dog’s age and don’t have a good current spring photo yet this year.  Shame on me, too, because this past week we have had the most exceptional colours splashing all around our gardens, front and back, and I haven’t gotten a single snap of them yet. 

Work, as usual, has been holding me captive. 

It’s been a dog’s age also since I’ve come in here to create something for you to read.  I’m sure you have plenty of other blogs/journals/diaries, etc., to keep you occupied.  But c’mon.  I’ve gotten really bad lately. 

Sorry.

It’s Friday.  I have to keep saying that to myself because I keep thinking it’s really Saturday, and different things happen around this place on a Saturday than on a Friday, and I’m all messed up in my head.  I kept thinking Paul would be selling lobsters this afternoon, so I asked him to get the lawnmower out and get it all ready to go in the front garden, and maybe, if I were feeling very ambitious (which I almost never am anymore), I might make a stab at mowing a patch of the front lawn.  He reminded me that he wasn’t going anywhere today and that’s when I realized it wasn’t Saturday. 

Every day is the same for me.  I work every day.  Just about.  If I work a lot on Saturday and Sunday, then I get Monday mornings free, but then I get more work at noontime and am back at it in the afternoon.

I think you all know the routine.  That’s another reason I never write because my life is so incredibly “same-old same-old” that I hate boring you with it. 

I have birds making a nest under the bottom of my air-conditioner here in my office.  They can’t get into the house, but they are just t’other side of the little vents on the sides, and I listen to them all hours, building their nest, laying their eggs, raising their young birds, etc.  I like being that close to wild nature and them not knowing I’m listening.

Every year, within minutes of the window air-conditioning unit being installed into my window, those birds are there, hoseying the space underneath it in the windowsill for their spring nesting area.  Then their work starts. 

I have to go.  Things are happening here and I need to attend. 

Catchya later. Maybe with some new snaps.

Cheers,

Bex & Co.

3 thoughts on “Spring colour

  1. How funny that the birds like to build their nest under your air-conditioner. The ones around my house restrict themselves to the hanging plants on the front porch.

    Like

  2. You obviously need to purchase a winning lottery ticket. There’s nothing like being fabulously wealthy to cure the need to work day after day.

    Like

Leave a Comment

