Jim is clairvoyant!

 Jim – how did you know? (see comments at my previous entry).

There is a funny story that goes with the ticket below.

lotteryticket

The other day, about a week ago, I was doing my weekly food shopping.  When I wheeled my cart into the check-out aisle, down on the floor was a rather grubby-looking, slightly wet-looking, one dollar bill.  I carefully picked it up but it was so unappetizing to even touch, I held it out at arm’s length and gave it to the cashier and said “Here, someone dropped this, you can have it.”

After all my groceries were scanned and it was time to pay, the cashier asked, as she asks every customer, “Would you like to donate $1 to the Jimmy Fund?”  And, as usual, I quickly answered “No, thanks.”

(I work very hard for every dollar I earn!)

Then on second thought, I said to her “No, wait!  Use that dollar bill I just gave you and donate that for me!”

I had no idea there was a ticket involved.  I just thought I was donating the dollar bill.

She tallied up my food cost and gave me all the related papers/coupons/etc. that they give you these days, along with a scratch ticket.  I just stuffed it all in my purse and forgot about it. 

I never buy lottery tickets.  Ever.  Neither does Paul. 

At supper, I was relating this story to Paul and came to the bit about the scratch ticket and said “Oh!  I forgot!  I have a scratch ticket in my purse – I’ll go get it!” 

I made him scratch it off, and he looked at both sides for a long while, with quite the good poker-face, I might add, and finally handed it over to me saying “I think you may have won $500!” 

“No way!”

“Yes way!”

“NO WAY!”

“I think so!”

Neither one of us knew for sure so we had to get our eyeglasses out and read all the fine print on the back to see if we had, indeed, won.  It seemed that we had.  But I wouldn’t believe it until someone official told me so.

Next morning I took it up to the food store and showed it to the woman at the Service Desk.  Her eyes lit up and said “I do believe you have won $500!  You lucky lady.”

She went on to tell me that they NEVER have winners like that there. Maybe once.  Wow.

I had to fill out a long form and submit it, and I won’t receive anything for 4-6 weeks in the mail, but hey – I did win!

I forgot about that little incident in my life when writing my last entry.  How could I forget winning $500?  It has happened to me only one other time, the year I got married, when my family bought me a weekly numbers game ticket with our birthdays as numbers and it won me $500 then.  That was in 1986. 

Cheers,

Bex

7 thoughts on “Jim is clairvoyant!

  1. I totally agree with your sentiment, Michael. The money will just go into the savings account and I won’t really see it at all, or buy anything fun, or anything. Paul is on the verge of having to replace the motor in his lobster boat and he says the price for that little job will be somewhere around $12 to $14,000 ! You read that right. For an engine! So my measly little $500 will just be a drop in that bucket of outgoing monies!

    Like

  2. I am so happy for you…years ago I won a 9 inch tv.
    My kids wanted dunken donuts for sunday brunch and my mate dropped in his name and that nite they called for us to come and pick it up.
    Back in those days that was a great size to win .
    The kids used it for years and years in their playroom

    Like

  3. If it is as you say that you have only had two lottery tickets in several years, both of which were winners, don’t you feel a compulsion to buy one once in a while to see if your lucky streak is still holding? That’s a funny story.

    Like

Leave a Comment

